Linux Adventure

Well, I've decided that I want to learn how Linux works.  So, I've been listening to a few podcasts, and I've installed a couple of different distributions now, and got my feet wet a little.  The goal is to get my old PC to work a little faster.  In Windows if I wanted to watch a video, I hae to quit every other application, including bittorrent, or else it would stutter.  Not cool.

So, I installed Ubuntu with the Gnome desktop.  I didn't care for it too much (mostly, I think, because I had no idea what I was doing).  Then I installed OpenSUSE with the KDE desktop, and I've stuck with that.  I'm not sure if I like KDE better, but I'm definitely finding SUSE more easy for a newbie to understand.
So, apart from some difficulties with drivers, and figuring out how to network with my laptop running Windows, it's been a pretty good experience.  Last night Karli and I were serving some episodes of Lost to our TV while running bittorrent in the background, and also copying over a bunch of files from the laptop at the same time.  No stutters!
Now, if I could just get my printer to work….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

3 Responses

  1. Hey Mike,Thanks for inviting me to your blog. I can help you fix your pc to have it running like you would never imagine in as little as one week. Just fallow these simple steps:

  2. I agree, Jarem. I'm currently typing on my beautiful 20" iMac. But, unfortunately, I'm currently too poor to afford a Mac at home. Maybe someday.

  3. Well, you can always sell a kid or something, but after having my own I think I've found the one thing that's worth more than a Mac! Are you still thinking about moving to Canada and buying a Radio Shack?

Leave a Reply

