Cigarette Butt Holes

  In my last two vehicles I've had horns that don't work.  I think in a lot of cases that has been a good thing, since I've traditionally been overly quick to honk out my frustrations at other drivers.  But today I really wish it had been there for me.

  Driving to work I was stopped at a red light, when the lady in front of me casually finished her cigarette and dropped the still burning butt on the pavement.  After slamming on my non-working horn a few times, I considered getting out of the car to ask her to pick it up, but then the light changed and we both had to keep driving.  Then I considered following her to her destination to tell her what I thought of her behavior, but I opted to leave her alone and write this blog post instead to vent my frustration.
  First of all, I think smoking is a pretty disgusting habit.  It makes everyone and everything around it stink, not to mention all the health problems it causes that I end up having to pay for with higher insurance premiums, more taxes, etc.  I still think people have the right to do whatever they want with their own bodies, and if that means smoking then so be it, but that does not give people the right to throw their cigarette butts anywhere they please.  The fact that people obviously don't consider this littering is ridiculous.  It is littering!  Plus, it is often a fire hazard.  Most of the morons I see doing this don't even bother to put the things out before they toss them on the ground.  What a bunch of inconsiderate jerks.
  So for all of you out there with horns that do work, please honk your hearts out for me the next time you see one of these jackasses throw their cigarette butt out their car window.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

