Freakonomics on the Green River

So I heard about the book 'Freakonomics' last year and I've been meaning to read it ever since.  My brother Jeremy recently read it, so I finally managed to get around to it this week.  I actually downloaded the audio book, put it on my iPod and listened to it while driving in my car.  It is an awesome book.  I really enjoyed it.  It's pretty much just about a bunch of random crap, but it was all very interesting.  I'd recommend it to anyone who wants a bit of a thought provoker.
I was able to listen to most of the book while I was helping drive my ward's scout troop to their green river canoe trip on Monday.  That was quite the adventure.  They mentioned on Sunday that they were short a driver and were pretty panicked, so I said I had the day off work and could help drive if they needed.  The next morning I showed up at the church at 8:30 as they had requested.  There was one other car there on time, and no leaders.  I ended up waiting around for 2 hours before we were finally ready to go.  I was a bit annoyed because had I known, I could have done 2 hours of the work I had put off to help these guys out of a jam!  Oh well.
We finally drove out around 10:30, drove to Green River, then to the put in at Crystal Geyser.  It brought back some good memories for me of the time I camped there as a boy on my own first canoe trip.  We unpacked the gear and then drove to the take out at mineral bottoms to drop off the two trucks that will drive the scouts home when they're finished.  That took about 4 hours, and by the time we got back to Crystal Geyser dinner was almost ready.  It smelled good so I decided to stick around for a bit, catch some lizards and go for a dip in the river.  After a good dinner I headed back home.  I got back around 10:30.  Quite a long day of driving, but I was kept good company by Freakonomics, and I was happy to be able to pay back the world for my own good experiences in the scouting program.  My Karma feels good.  Earl would be proud.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

Leave a Reply

