Oh, Canada!

OK, I’ve been hinting at this for a while now, but here is the official announcement, for everyone who has been asking and doesn’t already know. I am moving to Canada. I’m renouncing my US Citizenship and climbing off this sinking ship of failed democracy.

Not really. I am moving to Canada, but it has nothing to do with my feelings about the current state of affairs, nor is it so that I can move to a place that endorses gay marriage. If I wanted that, I could move to California, where it is much sunnier and warmer. No, I am moving to Canada for the greatest and noblest of all reasons: to make my wife happy. It’s not that she’s been begging me to move or anything, but she misses her family a lot and would love to live by them again.

There are a lot of other reasons for moving, too, which I’m quite excited about: Our kids will have lots of cousins to play with; We’re moving to a small town with a more laid back atmosphere and lots of relatively cheap land available; It will be a good test of my new remote working arrangements, in preparation for further international travel; It will be a good chance to get to know Karli’s family better. All in all, I’m looking forward to the new experience. It should be a great adventure.

This has been in the works for over a year now, as I’ve been applying for a permanent resident visa, which I finally received early this year. Next step was to sell our house, which we just closed on last week. Currently we’re living in my parents’ basement while we finish up a few last things and until our new home is available. We plan to make the final move to Vanderhoof, BC in early July.

So now you know, and knowing is half the battle.

9 Responses

  1. That’s pretty cool, actually. I’m a big “Canada fan,” as about 99% of people who I deal with from Canada (friends, people at work, vacationers) have been excellent people. I’m sure this isn’t the way it is all throughout, but Canadians seem to have a laid back, helpful, just plain nice attitude…

    …well, at least ’til you get there, eh… 🙂

    Good luck in this next adventure!

  2. That is awesome, good luck with the move. Do you like hockey and ketchup chips?

  3. Well I’ll be jiggered…..I thought it all was a big joke! Good luck to you and your fam. You’re a good man to be moving so that your wife can be closer to her family. (Girls needs their families doncha know.) Ditto on the ketchup chips, oh, and also pickle flavored chips. Have you ever had them? My Bro in law served his mission in BC so I have had the distinct pleasure….or not.

  4. That is so exciting. But we will miss you guys. Hope everything works out the way you want it to.

  5. Wish we could with you. Summers up there are gorgeous. Enjoy the fishing for us!

  6. Free medical! Need I say more?

  7. Damon,
    I’ve only played hockey once and I totally sucked, but anything that involves punching I should be able to figure out eventually. I don’t mind the ketchup chips, especially after the bacon and chicken flavored chips they had in Russia.

    Florrie,
    Haven’t had pickle chips yet, but I’ll give them a try.

    Kara,
    Nothing is ever free! 🙂

  8. Bummer, I was totally hoping to run into you at Reams during one of your searches of the shelves:)

    Best of luck to you and your family.

  9. You will love Canada as much as Canada will love u and Karli

Leave a Reply

