Turn That Damn Music Down!

OK, so I’ve been meaning to write about my Havasupai trip for the last week and I just can’t be bothered.  So instead, I will vent about something that’s been bothering me lately.

I love music.  I love to share music with others.  Music has always been one of the ways I express my personality.  When I discover a new band/artist, I love to drive around with my windows down, just so other people can hear and know that I’m awesome because I got the new [insert name here] CD.  I like to discover new music and I absolutely love to download songs I haven’t heard for 10 or 20 years.  Music is a huge part of my life.

That being said, I can hardly find words to express how annoying I find the Playlist.com blog widget.  I know most people obviously love that little guy, based on the fact that most everyone I know has one on their blog, but I can’t stand it.  I don’t think it’s a terrible idea, sharing your favorite music with your visitors, but just the fact that it starts playing automatically is what kills me.  When I’m surfing the internet, much like when I’m putting my boys down to sleep, I don’t like anything to start making noise unless I ask it to.  So, when I surf over to someone’s blog, and all of a sudden Celine Dion starts howling through my speakers, it makes me want to club a baby seal.

7 Responses

  1. Im so sorry! I just happen to be one of those annoying people with my annoying music on my blog,,,,,,BUT I dont have any Celine so…………..SAVE THE SEALS!!!!!! HAha

  2. Amen. Can’t stand blog music starting automatically. If I want to hear what you have on your blog, let me push play!

  3. So is that why you totally turned me down the other night? It’s all becoming so clear now! 🙂

  4. I totally agree, you should talk to Karli about that! Ha ha.

  5. I couldn’t agree more.

  6. Funny, but true! I have had to quickly turn down the volume on my computer several times so I don’t wake the house. I hope you guys have a good drive up to Canada! You will be missed down here!

  7. They just start up automatically? I thought you had to at least scroll past the widget before being auditorally accosted. .

    Sorry. I too am an offender, but note the location of the widget on my blog. You have to read pretty far to come across the thing. I hate other people’s play lists too though. Hint: blog surf with your speakers turned off.

    By the way… who the hell has Celine Dion playing and why are you friends with them? Did you already move? I guess she’s bigger than Elvis up there in Canada, eh?

Leave a Reply

