All aTwitter

So, I’ve been using Twitter for a few months now and I’m still not exactly sure what I think of it.  For any not familiar with the service, it’s a microblogging platform, where your posts are limited to 140 characters.  It’s somewhat akin to your Facebook status, but it has some additional functionality.

One thing I have a hard time with, while using all these neat new Web 2.0 sites, is trying to get everything to work together.  For instance, I have used Flickr to post my photos online for quite a while, but all my friends are posting theirs on Facebook, now, because they have some cool features there.  Bottom line, though, is I don’t want to have to post the same photos to Facebook, Flickr, my blog and wherever else I might need them.  So, I’m all for services that help consolidate things and make it easier for me.

Along these lines, and speaking of Twitter, I have a few recommendations: First, if you haven’t checked out Twitter yet, go look into it and feel free to add me as a friend at Twitter.com/mikehurren.  Second, if you want to use Twitter like I do and have it automatically update your Facebook status with your tweets, then check out their neat little Facebook app at Facebook.com/Twitter.  Third, check out FriendFeed.com, if you haven’t already.  This is a site where you can have all your updates and activity from various social sites consolidated into one feed which you can share with your friends or post on your blog, like you’ll see in my left sidebar.  Lastly, I would recommend the import feature on Facebook, something I’ve just recently discovered.  This is a bit like FriendFeed, but it’s an integrated part of Facebook.  You can set it up to automatically post activity from your YouTube account, your blog and a number of other pre-set options.

This whole social media landscape is a bit confusing and cumbersome sometimes, so I really appreciate any ways to make things simpler.  I’m still waiting to see if Twitter is going to live up to all its hype, but at least I can try it out now without any extra effort.  Post a comment and let me know what you think of Twitter, or if you have any other good suggestions for social media integration.

3 Responses

  1. Who’s winning the blog contest? You pinging all the blogging services to make sure you’re getting a little extra boost?

  2. Ryan,
    Yes, I’m using PingOMatic.com (there you go Karli) to ping a bunch of services at once. Let me know if you know of a better solution. Karli’s still beating me soundly, but the final count will be the last week of February, so I’m slowly marshaling my resources until then. If push comes to shove I can always go out and buy some clicks, right? 🙂

  3. I feel like you and I are totally in the same boat – I just wrote a similar post,
    http://geekin6weeks.com/2009/02/23/twitter-trials-and-tribulations/

    If you have time and could read my Mission Statement and offer advice, that’d be awesome. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

