Cutting the Cable

Since we moved to Canada, we never bothered to hook up a television service, so we’ve gone without for 7 months now and I can’t say I have any regrets.  We still watch our favorite shows, but we just watch them online or download them on the media PC we have hooked up to our TV set.  There are lots of great online services to watch your shows.  Most of the networks offer their shows online for free, or you can watch them at Hulu.com or download them from iTunes or other music stores.  Even if you pay $1.99 for every show on iTunes, it still might be a lot cheaper than paying a monthly service for your satellite or cable, plus you don’t have to sit through any commercials or have your kids telling you what kind of action figure they just have to have.  Our kids miss the cartoon network, but most of the cartoons I saw on our old cable service weren’t anything I really wanted them to be watching anyway, not to mention the commercials, and we have enough videos on hand to keep them watching way more than is healthy for them, so it’s OK.  Karli thought she would miss all her old reality shows, but during that same time she got her own computer and found a million new ways to waste time online, so I don’t think she minds too much.

If anyone else has had experience with no TV, let me know what tips and tricks you have.  I recently discovered a cool blog that talks about this kind of stuff, too.  It’s at www.decabled.com.  Also, I’m wondering if anyone has any recommendations for new shows that I might not know about.  Currently our watch list includes: Scrubs, The Office, My Name Is Earl, The Colbert Report, 30 Rock, Heroes, Lost & 24.  That’s plenty to keep up with, but if we’re missing out on anything great out there, let me know your suggestions.  Someone recently recommended Chuck, so I’m downloading the first season to check it out.  I’ve also heard Prison Break is good, but I’m not sold on it yet.  We’ll see.

One Response

  1. Fringe is awesome. Tuesdays on Fox. You can find it on Hulu too.

Leave a Reply

