Ode to Sleds

I’ve just arrived. It’s almost dawn.
I see the hill I’ll sled upon.
Its perfect virgin snowy slopes,
are whiter than a hundred popes.
I’ll sled all day, and into night,
with never ceasing snow delight.
If I catch pneumonia, or rupture my bladder,
I’ll still have fun, and it won’t matter.
If I run right smack into a tree,
and impale myself, I’ll laugh with glee.
If I hit my head and almost die,
or hit a branch and lose an eye,
I’ll get back up, and smile and say,
“boy, what a marvelous wonderful day!”

Leave a Reply

