Pop Goes….my Chair!

Well, I’ve just discovered the main disadvantage of using an exercise ball for your office chair. Though it does provide a fun place to sit, bringing a small amount of mobility to an otherwise sedentary day, there are some risks involved. I was right in the middle of composing my last email of the day when I heard a strange hissing noise, followed immediately by a loud pop, as my beautiful yellow chair exploded out from under me, dropping me unceremoniously onto my backside.

I can easily imagine how funny this must have looked to an outside observer, especially having recently witnessed my brother Jeremy, in the middle of dinner, suddenly disappear into a shower of broken chair parts. Unfortunately, the only person present for this mishap was my 1-year old son, Luke, who, rather than laughing, instead decided to stare at me for a brief moment and then start bawling and running for his life. Actually, he can’t really run yet, but I’ve never seen him do his drunken stumble faster. I managed to coax him back into the room eventually and he’s been enjoying himself immensely for the last ten minutes draping the remains of the ruined office chair on his head and walking around the room like a zombie until he hits a wall and falls over. At least the boy knows how to have a good time.

3 Responses

  1. Yeah right! Sounds like Mike’s weak cover up for cutting some mean wind. That’s enough to make even the most seasoned run for their lives. I’m sure the so called drunken stumble was more a result of ether-like fumes!

  2. Ummmmm, Kyle, I’m pretty sure you shouldn’t be accusing ANYONE of “cutting wind” 🙂

  3. Har. Wish I’d been there! I’m not getting into the whole farting discussion.

Leave a Reply

