Help name our new kitty

 

For my birthday, my boys got me a new cat.  I’ve been wanting one for a couple months, now, and we got a lead on a free one that someone wanted to get rid of, so they went and picked her up, yesterday.  This is not, actually, a photo of our new cat, mostly because the cat is currently hiding somewhere, undoubtedly already tired of being Porter and Walker’s newest toy.  But, this is basically what she looks like.

Black Cat

She’s a friendly cat, pretty small in size (she may not be full grown yet), likes to meow a lot, doesn’t like getting in the bath (though she needs at least one more after living in a logger’s trailer out in the bush).  She’s all black, with yellow eyes and a good mane.

All we need now is to name her.  Since she was my birthday present, I’m claiming naming rights, but I’m not sure what to go with.  The boys want to name her Batman or Wolverine.  I would have compromised and went with Bruce or Logan, but then we found out it was a girl, so I need something a little less masculine.  Our last cat, the  boys named Buddy, and the one before that was Jezebel.  So far, my current ideas have included: Jet, Onyx, Ivory, Obama, Snowball, Cracker, Darth Kittyous & Blackie (not very original, I know, but that was the name of my first cat).

Anybody have any good cat name ideas?

10 Responses

  1. I think you should name her Kathi! Score some points!

  2. Cats. Ick. Just name it itchy. Or scratchy. That’s all I can think about at the mere mention of cats. Great. I think I need a benadryl.

  3. I gotta vote for onyx! Or Lucky… She’s a black cat, throw that good karma out there. Ooh! Name her karma!

  4. I don’t think Kathi is going to fly. I just can’t picture myself saying ‘Kathi, get off the bed,’ or ‘Kathi, stop sticking your butt in my face.’ That’s just too weird.
    I like Scratchy, actually, good Simpsons reference.
    Karma might be good. Then I could walk around all the time saying, ‘where’s your karma now, dummy?’ (all all the Earl fans out there will know what I’m talking about)
    We’re actually sort of leaning towards Gwen, now. Karli came up with that one. It’s a nice nod to one of my favorite fantasy books, too. I’m still undecided, though, so keep the ideas coming.

  5. I vote for snowball–hilarious. I’ve been remiss in visiting either blog, but I’m catching up today. I, of course, an strictly neutral.

  6. You’ve got to think: who is the baddest black female of them all? Your only choice would be Foxy Brown, Cleopatra Jones, or Madea. I don’t like any of those names, but if you go with the actors/actresses that originated them you get Pam Grier and Tyler Perry. I would suggest Maddi or Perry.

  7. Lillith

  8. This cat looks just like mine…Her name was Missy…she passed 2 days ago…

  9. I vote for A one that My Blackcat was named BlackJack! or Lucky even Clover

  10. Ceefor– c for cat !!! Ha ha
    My black cat is called Tia

Leave a Reply

